What’s left of The Allman Brothers Band came together Tuesday night at Madison Square Garden in New York to mark their 50th anniversary.

Calling themselves The Brothers, original member Jaimoe was joined by latter day members Warren Haynes, Derek Trucks, Oteil Burbridge and Marc Quinones, along with keyboardist Reese Wynans who was in the pre-Allman Brothers Band The Second Coming, drummer Duane Trucks from Widespread Panic, and former Allman Brothers keyboardist Chuck Leavell. (Derek and Duane are brothers and the nephew of the late Allman’s drummer Butch Trucks.)

They did a 24-song set spread over two sets. The first set started with a cover of The Spencer Davis Group‘s “Don’t Want You No More” and closed with “Jessica.”


Set two started with “Mountain Jam” and ended with “Whipping Post,” the second of two encores.

The show was Jaimoe’s idea — one of only two original members left. Guitarist Dickey Betts was asked to be part of the show, but is medical issues prevented him from participating. Here is Warren Haynes on Jaimoe’s idea for the 50th:

“The wheels started spinning [and] we started putting it in the planning stages, you know. But, as someone said, you only get one 50th anniversary. It is a big deal and I’m sure we were all hoping that the band would still be around to play, but this is a good way to pay tribute to what they did. When I say they, I know speaking for Derek and myself, we always felt like we were just trying to honor the original band, which we both love so much.”

The Allman Brothers last show prior to last night was their 45th anniversary finale at The Beacon Theatre in New York in 2014. Original members Gregg Allman and Butch Trucks both died in 2017. The other two founding members — Duane Allman and Berry Oakley were killed in motorcycle accidents in 1971 and ’72.

The Brothers – Madison Square Garden, New York – March 10th, 2020:

  1. “Don’t Want You No More”
  2. “It’s Not My Cross to Bear”
  3. “Statesboro Blues”
  4. “Revival”
  5. “Trouble No More”
  6. “Don’t Keep Me Wondering’”
  7. “Black Hearted Woman”
  8. “Dreams”
  9. “Hot ‘Lanta”
  10. “Come and Go Blues” (w/Chuck Leavell)
  11. “Soulshine” (w/Leavell)
  12. “Stand Back” (w/Leavell)
  13. “Jessica” (w/Leavell)

Set Two:

  • “Mountain Jam” (w/Leavell)
  • “Blue Sky” (w/Leavell)
  • “Desdemona” (w/Leavell)
  • “Ain’t Wastin’ Time No More” (w/Leavell)
  • “Every Hungry Woman”
  • “Melissa”
  • “In Memory of Elizabeth Reed”
  • “No One Left to Run With Anymore”
  • “One Way Out”


  1. “Midnight Rider” (w/Leavell)
  2. “Whipping Post” (w/Leavell)
Following a three-night test run in Las Vegas last fall, the Eagles will start their Hotel California tour tonight (Friday) with the first of three shows at the State Farm Arena in Atlanta. Don Henley tells us...
On today’s “Rock Gossip”…you are wrong, and Woodstock 50 Update...
On Today's "Rock Gossip"…Tommy Lee needs a hobby and  couple of classic rockers needed surgery....